I know I never post and we can all agree that's fair because no one ever reads this but after riding in the car for 40+ hours in the past week some thoughts have come to mind that I should probably right down.
First of all I hate Christmas. I love the idea of having an excuse to give people presents, I love giving and getting presents, but I still hate Christmas. And more than that I hate Thanksgiving. it's not just because I'm vegan and the fact that a national holiday celebrating our gross factory farming practices is disgusting to me, but I hate the fact that I am expected to take days off work (which means less money), travel (which means spending the money I'm not making because I took time off from work), and then I'm also supposed to buy people presents in the mean time. I love buying people presents; I just don't like to do it half assed. If I'm going to buy a present for someone I want them to really enjoy it. I want them to know I thought carefully about what to get them and knew they'd like it. So that means I'm spending more time and money on this than maybe other people are, but what is the fun in getting or giving crappy gifts? So I'm not a typical humbug, but I hate Thanksgiving and I hate Christmas. And I would be quite content if we just skipped the days between Halloween and Valentine's day, because really is there anything more dissapointing than New Year's?
Second of all....I need to write a book, but not like the weird fantastical collection of words I've been scribbling down every November. A David Sedaris or Chelsea Handler style humorous collection of embarrassing stories. I'm thinking some about my depressing love life between the ages of 10 and 20. Or the stupid things I used to do when I was drunk. I think I could combine those though, like when I had a huge crush on Dan Trudeau when I was in 7th grade, and it was perfect because I never talked to him or saw him so he could remain perfect in my mind until a friend of mine told me he smoked weed and that was so crazy and foreign to me I was forced to move on. But then when I was 19 and drinking at a bar, I shouldn't have been drinking at, and more accepting of the fact that people smoked weed, I saw him and because I had already consumed 3 vodka cranberries, it seemed like a lovely idea to tell him that I used to have a crush on him in 7th grade, which he then seemed very pleased with and we made out in his car.
Or I could write a collection of family stories that could explain why my brother's have given me little faith in the opposite sex, and justified my perpetual fear of alcohol that I eventually overcame. thank you, oglethorpe. So much life to right about....and I'm not even 25 yet, but I will be next November. Does a collection of short memoirs on the same topic qualify for NaNoWriMo?
Third...I hate driving in the snow. It's gaining steam and it might make it to my Top 5 Things I Hate List soon if I keep having to do it, but currently beating it on the list are: the stupid people that think any time it is cold or it snows is infallible proof that global warming is a myth. Could you be any more stupid? First (I know you love to know I can count) when it snows the temperature is relatively high: normally between 20-30. Cold winters temperatures are normally below zero. Secondly, if it is cold it doesn't mean global warming can't exist. Scientists believe that global warming will cause erratic weather patters, say like it being 9 degrees on Sunday and then 60 on Wednesday. I'd call that erratic.
The most plausible argument for why global warming doesn't exist is the idea that it is happening it's just not man made. It's a natural cycle the world goes through based on how much trees grew in 1665. And I would buy that, maybe, if I needed a reason not to feel guilty for driving my Chevy Suburban through rush hour traffic every morning with just lonely old me inside the 8 passenger vehicle. But for those of us who aren't trying to maintain a horribly wasteful way of life it's pretty obvious that doing bad things will eventually catch up to us. Isn't that why people believe in heaven and hell? So what is the worst thing that could happen if we work to protect our environment? We might lower our cholesterol levels?
Fourth, I hate stupid people.