Everything I read about writing tells me in order to be good at it I need to do it everyday. I'm finding that particularly difficult, because I don't always have something to say. I understand the concept, practice makes perfect, but lately I can only write anything worth reading when I am feeling particularly ripe with emotion.
I don't hate Hollywood for my distorted body image. I don't hate Hollywood for making me think that at 118 I'd still look a lot better if I lost five pounds. I think beauty should be something worth striving towards constantly. It should be hard to obtain and always slightly out of reach. I think if all the models and actresses looked just like me they would have no right to be famous and wealthy, and partly that's true either way.
But what I really hate Hollywood for is making me feel unsuccessful. I'm 24 and I have a college degree and I am not horribly discontent with my life, but Hollywood makes me feel a lot more like a failure. In shows like Ally Mcbeal people my age drive brand new Saabs and make six figures. In movies people always get married when they're my age and have a house and kid two years later, all the while maintaining their lovely careers that they got right out of college. I know a house and kid aren't in my near future and I'm ok with that. Why do shows and movies have to make me feel bad about?
No comments:
Post a Comment